Controversial Medicine: Alternative Health

Kites rise highest against the wind – not with it.  —  Winston Churchill

I came across an interesting three-part video on the Dr. Oz website on Controversial Medicine:  Alternative Health where he explores the various sides of the alternative treatment debate and why doctors may be afraid to even mention them.  I say kudos to doctors who are open to considering “alternative therapies in their traditional practices.”

There are a small handful of doctors I’ve seen who are open to discussing alternative therapies to complement their treatments for me.  I’ve been surprised that most doctors don’t mention alternative treatments, or brush it off.  One doctor firmly told me that holistic medicine is not what they do in Western medicine.  It’s a challenge to find treatments that are safe and effective, but we shouldn’t turn a blind eye to treatments in the “alternative” category that may be safe and effective.  There have been some science- or evidence-based treatments that have not been safe and effective for me.  There have been some alternative treatments that have been safer and more effective for me.  If I am getting results, should I now turn my back on those alternative opportunities if they don’t have the desired evidence, and worse yet should I just continue with debilitating symptoms knowing there haven’t been other options that have worked?  The answer for me is “No!”

What I expect is that healthcare providers (regardless of medical category) listen to me, spend the time to learn about me and my history, and are dedicated to customizing a treatment plan.  If  conventional medical treatment seems to be the right answer for me, then that’s ok.  If acupuncture, craniosacral, or other alternative medicine is the right path, then that’s ok.  Maybe it’s a combination of both.  All types of medicine needs to be used sensibly with a patient.  But at least consider the different options because I’ve learned that integrating treatments work better for some of my conditions.

Controversial Medicine debate video part 1

Controversial Medicine debate video part 2

Controversial Medicine debate video part 3

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TBM
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 12:52:46

    I think it is always best to look into all options. And I love the quote. Churchill is one of my faves!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: I’d like to take a poll « Ichigo Ichie

Leave a Reply

