Alternative Treatment Results – Digestion

In this post, I thought I would include some of my experiences and results with alternative treatments specifically with the digestive issues that baffled many of my doctors.  I have a better understanding now of what may have been happening.  The problem:  Intense stomach pain, nausea, difficulty keeping food down for nearly eight months and significant weight loss.

Acupuncture

My acupuncturist said my digestive system had become imbalanced and that we needed to improve my body’s ability to absorb nutrients.  Her recommendation was acupuncture to help the body correct digestive imbalances and manage pain.  She also recommended adding easily digestible foods to my meals, three times a day, for about six months, and gave me a recipe for “congee.”  Congee is an Asian rice porridge, which can include other ingredients to improve flavor and increase nutrients.  Because congee is easy on the stomach, eating it daily can help the body learn how to digest food properly again.  Better digestion improves nutrient absorption, which improves the body’s healing ability.  In just over a month with weekly acupuncture sessions, I had a noticeable decrease in stomach pain.

CranioSacral Therapy (CST) and Massage Therapy

My posting on CST described the cranial rhythm as the flow of spinal fluid through the spine and is separate from the pulse or rhythm of the heartbeat.  An abnormality (change in the rhythm) can cause problems in the body.  My therapist described the normal human cranial rhythm as being similar to the smooth swimming motion of a dolphin, and cycles about six to twelve times a minute.

Early in my CST sessions, my therapist noticed cranial rhythm abnormalities where I was experiencing the most problems in my body, stomach included.  My abnormalities may have resulted from tight muscles, accumulated stress, overuse of muscles, surgery, etc.  Separately, she identified specific abdominal muscles that if tight, can affect digestion and cause the body to reject food.  Those muscles were definitely tight.  She also identified another tight muscle that can affect stomach pain.  Nerves exist which pass through this muscle to the stomach, and can become compressed if the muscle is tight.  Compressed nerves = pain.  My overall abdominal muscles were tight, which alone can increase abdominal pain.  In later sessions, she said one of my tight neck muscles could affect digestion because it can pull indirectly on one of the cranial nerves called the vagus nerve.  (hmmm…Several months prior, a doctor tested me for a scary stomach condition that can result from a damaged vagus nerve.  Many of my symptoms were similar to the condition, and the test results were normal, thank goodness, but hmmm…I wonder if this nerve really was involved.  Oh well…that neck muscle is something to keep in mind if my symptoms return.)

Her treatments included CST with gentle stretches and light pressure to help the body regulate the cranial rhythm and start healing, and shiatsu/massage therapy to loosen tight muscles.  Based on my therapist’s assessment, it’s obvious to me that she is highly knowledgeable about human anatomy.

Mind/Body Exercises

A combination of therapies has been necessary for my healing, and I strongly believe that mind/body exercises need to be included.  I’ve been using the mind/body exercises described so far in this blog.  They help with relaxation; they give me a break from the pain through meditation; they increase my awareness of feelings in my body, large and small, so those feelings can be addressed; they help me be objective about what my body is feeling, which helps decrease the intensity of emotions and physical pain, etc.  These exercises are a lot easier said than done and take a lot of practice, but what I’ve been able to accomplish so far has definitely helped.

Results with Alternative Treatments

It’s been several months since I started treatments, but I have experienced at least a 90% improvement to date with stomach pain, digestion and food tolerance. I’ve also achieved my weight gain goal.  Yay!  I’ve noticed that when stomach pain returns, it usually means the abdominal muscles are tight.  A stomach massage or acupuncture usually relieves that pain.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Warrior Poet Wisdom
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:57:48

    Acupuncture is a wonderful way to unlock own own natural abilities to deal with pain and discomfort. So much more effective than any pain killer I’ve ever used.

    Reply

  2. granbee
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 16:40:01

    All of the so-called “alternative treatments” which have helped you so much(I am SO happy for you!), are actually very natural methods of just using the basic laws of physics to remove the CAUSES of the stress, pain, etc. Congrats on reaching your weightloss goals, as well.

    Reply

  3. TBM
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 04:11:24

    So happy to hear that you improving. It must feel great.

    Reply

  4. Warrior Poet Wisdom
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 11:02:18

    Congratulations! You’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award!
    http://warriorpoetwisdom.com/2011/11/23/versatile-blogger-award/

    Reply

  5. ElizOF
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 03:38:06

    I love acupuncture and try to get it when possible… I explore both traditional and alternative therapies as they both have their value… 🙂 TY for your patience as I have been adjusting to a changed schedule in my life … Glad to comment again. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

