A Short History of Medicine (Joke)

.

A Short History of Medicine

“Doctor, I have an ear ache.”

2000 BC – “Here, eat this root.”

1000 BC – “That root is heathen, say this prayer.”

1850 AD – “That prayer is superstition, drink this potion.”

1940 AD – “That potion is snake oil, swallow this pill.”

1985 AD – “That pill is ineffective, take this antibiotic.”

2000 AD – “That antibiotic is artificial. Here, eat this root!”

The source of this joke is unknown, but when I saw it on Magsx2 blog, it caught my attention.  (I can really relate to the last line of the joke!)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LediaR
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 19:26:32

    I loved this!

    Reply

  2. magsx2
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 19:28:11

    Hi,
    I’m glad you liked the joke, it is a good one. 😀

    Reply

  3. yoshizen
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 19:57:18

    I like this joke, the last line.
    Antibiotic may be as artificial as cheese or yogurt, as they are
    refined and nicely packaged.
    Same apply to such as sugar = extracted from sugar cane,
    where we draw the line in its process of refinement = from where
    it is no longer natural and seen as artificial ? ? ?

    Reply

  4. buddhafulkat
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 00:03:08

    Hahaha – love it!!!

    Reply

  5. TBM
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 00:22:57

    Yes I love it. Once I had this bad sinus infection and I went to a doctor and the medicine didn’t work. I talked to a friend of mine who was studying Chinese medicine and he suggested this herb and within a day I was 80% better. I wish I could remember the name of that herb. I think nature has a lot of healing powers.

    Reply

  6. mcolmo
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 05:33:07

    Ha! I love it, specially since I don’t trust doctors much…

    Reply

  7. granbee
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 14:08:14

    This is so absolutely, awesomely wonderful! I cannot believe how much it mirrors our idiocies as a human race! I am emailing immediately to my licensed herbalist friend here!

    Reply

  8. Lindy Lee
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 13:23:48

    Clever historical conundrum, not unlike so much of life in general…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

