Emotion: Lonely

Lonely
Lonely, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)

>>:::<<
Calm, cool water
embracing each drop of rain
The lake hides my tears
>>:::<<

Expanding on my last post about “loneliness” versus “aloneness” I’m using this photo to represent both being alone and being lonely.  By the way, does anyone know what kind of bird this is?

(I’m using one of my artwork “tools” again to help address emotions.  See my posting on Addressing Emotional Pain #2 – Tools.)

Other postings in my “Emotion:” series:

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mcolmo
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:21:22

    Awwwww…..

    Reply

  2. sarahjademcdermott
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:34:42

    I think this is great.

    Reply

  3. Sonel
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:55:33

    Lovely post and photo! I am not sure but I think it’s a Greater Scaup..some small dabbling duck. 🙂

    Reply

  4. TBM
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 01:00:56

    Ah I feel for the little guy. And I’m sorry, but I don’t know the name. He’s adorable though.

    Reply

  5. Lindy Lee
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 09:49:34

    Perhaps a Lesser Scaup; similar ones lived in brackish water lake (Galveston, TX area) & for unknown reason were called Grebes by locals…

    Alone can be happy but lonely is sad; your photo has dual perception for humans. Who knows what this precious little duck feels…

    Reply

  6. granbee
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 12:45:57

    Upon rereading this post and gazing longer at the photo, I realized that being alone and crying a little and meditating actually helps me overcome any loneliness I may feel from time to time.

    Reply

  7. buddhafulkat
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 07:50:56

    very beautiful and peaceful

    Reply

  8. dogkisses
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 09:35:22

    Nice post, and such a pretty image too. I take many photos lately, and I often cannot identify the beautiful birds or plants. My son took a pic of a little lizard with an orange throat. Still don’t know the name of it. (I put it on Flickr I think)

    Lonely is hard, I think. It is sad. Being alone is fun, but lonely, not fun at all.

    Reply

  9. eof737
    May 07, 2012 @ 06:32:49

    This is also sweet. Hope all is well with you…

    Reply

  10. jmnartsy
    May 16, 2012 @ 02:37:51

    It may seem that way to you, based on your haiku; however, for me this pic signifies at-oneness for that little duck (I’m sure it’s a duck, but don’t know it’s name) — this is its natural environment, where they belong. The duck may be alone in the image, but won’t be for long after returning to the group. This image has many wonderful abstract qualities to it, as seen in the melding of colours and waves within the water. A beautiful painting.
    PS: A book for you: Aloneness by Osho.

    Reply

  11. recoverythrumylens
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 00:11:40

    Love this…the water is like a spectacular….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

