Never Give Up

Nana korobi ya oki

Nana korobi ya oki (七転び八起き) is a Japanese proverb that means, “seven times down, eight times up.”

nana (七) = 7
korobi (転び) = fall down
ya (八) = 8
oki (起き) = get up

It is a saying about perseverance and not giving up no matter how many times you are knocked down.  I’ve seen this proverb associated with the Japanese Daruma doll, which is a hollow, round Japanese traditional doll modeled after Bodhidharma, the founder of the Zen sect of Buddhism.  These dolls are weighted at the bottom in a way that will always return to an upright position when tilted over.

Never Give Up.  May you always get up after a fall.

Daruma

Daruma Doll
Photo courtesy: Wikipedia

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. victoriaaphotography
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 20:09:05

    I like this idea of the doll always being ‘righted’.

    I was always as stubborn as a mule and never gave up – until my chronic health got overwhelming and I was heading for a 2nd nervous breakdown from the stress of it all.

    Then I discovered some new sayings which fits my current situation far better….

    “Man cannot discover new oceans until he has courage to lose sight of the shore” (I stopped focusing on my chronic health problems and started focusing on what I could do with my life DESPITE chronic pain & other health issues)

    AND….

    “If you want things to be different, perhaps the answer is to become different yourself”
    (I stopped trying to fix my health & symptoms and put all my energy into being a photographer. Of course I had to quit full time work and apply for a Government pension before that idea arose. But quitting work, gave me the energy to actually do something positive and creative. I stopped being a patient and become a person again.

    I still have the same health conditions, although admittedly the pain & fatigue is not as bad as it was when sitting in an office all day.

    I hope your resuming posts on your blogs means you are a little better now?

    Reply

    • Fergiemoto
      Feb 21, 2013 @ 18:39:26

      Thank you for the additional quotes! Those are good ones. I know the difficulty in having to leave your career due to health reasons, and having to search for a new path, but then it has opened doors to other gems and perspectives we might not have experienced otherwise. It’s wonderful you have found photography and nature. Keep photographing and sharing your art and insights with us. Your skill just keeps getting better and better!
      Healthwise lately is a roller coaster still, but easing back into blogging gradually.

      Reply

  2. J. Quigley
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 22:28:35

    Reblogged this on Yin Yang and commented:
    Never give up…

    Reply

  3. siggiofmaine
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 22:53:03

    Am pleased to see a post from you today…the encouragement I needed …. just the right words. Thank you. Peace and love, Siggi in Downeast Maine USA

    Reply

  4. ayna
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 01:13:50

    the secret to life, as they say. thanks for this post! simply uplifting 🙂

    Reply

  5. marina kanavaki
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 04:37:17

    What a wonderful message!!! …and your sketch is just PERFECT!!!!!
    🙂

    Reply

    • Fergiemoto
      Feb 21, 2013 @ 18:43:21

      Aw, thanks so much, Marina! I’m not much of an artist when it comes to drawing, so I just call them my “doodles.” I’m actually surprised I’ve gone a bit beyond drawing stick figures. 🙂

      Reply

  6. yoshizen
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 05:30:01

    Ha ha ha 😀
    I like it ! —– though, I say “Just Do It ” (or keep doing it = regardless whether you been fall or not = keep thinking “been fall” is clinging the past = past has gone)

    Reply

  7. TBM
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 03:56:56

    Wonderful message and thanks to you I have another proverb. I love learning them. I hope all is well!

    Reply

  8. eof737
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 10:36:28

    Amen to that… I’m with you on that one.

    Reply

  9. Amy
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 17:22:18

    Nana korobi ya oki! Thank you for the encouraging post

    Reply

  10. Lindy Lee
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 14:37:36

    Thank you, FiergieMoto for this proverb– 7 times down 8 times up…

    Reply

  11. Inside the Mind of Isadora
    Mar 22, 2013 @ 14:11:15

    This is a wonderful message. The breakdown of the words and thier meaning is interesting. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

