Take A Break

Let it clear

.
Muddy water, let stand, becomes clear.  ~ Lao Tzu

Sometimes we just need to take a break to clear our minds or let fresh thoughts and ideas flow in.  Here are just a few examples:

  • If we are struggling with finding a solution to a problem, it may help to let it rest for a while.  Go for a walk or do something else, and return to the problem refreshed rather than continuing to spin our wheels.
  • If we are overcome by chronic physical or emotional pain, perhaps a meditative or other relaxing activity will temporarily lessen the intensity.
  • If thoughts are racing through our minds, anxiety is elevated, or tempers are flying in a heated interaction, calming down can clear or minimize the turmoil.
  • etc.

What are some muddy waters you have faced and what have you done to let it become clear?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. saracfry
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 01:25:22

    Taking time out for yourself. Not listening to society viewpoints and trusting YOURSELF. Dedicating time purely to just breathe. Believing in yourself and your ability to overcome. Everything is a choice. It all boils down to how you decide to view your situations.

    Reply

  2. Raphael's Legacy
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 02:01:13

    I really do like the sensitivity of this article and hope that lots of bloggers pop by and articulate their muddy water experiences too.

    Acceptance and detaching from the struggle works really well for me, followed shortly after by a power shower and gift from the cosmos, all part of a gentle healing and clearing process which I believe we all should draw upon daily, sincere regards, Barry

    Reply

    • Fergiemoto
      Feb 21, 2013 @ 18:50:40

      Thank you for the support, Raphael! Acceptance is important, and the “power shower” sounds refreshing! I appreciate you sharing your experiences here.

      Reply

  3. victoriaaphotography
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 03:43:08

    I think saracfry has the right idea. When I was overwhelmed with criticism and disbelief re my chronic pain and fatigue condition, I didn’t take a firm enough stand with how I felt. I allowed work colleagues and family pressure to influence my decisions, instead of trusting my own judgement.

    Once I took control of my thought patterns and allowed them to settle and compose themselves into a calm & peaceful flow, instead of muddying from outside influences, I started to feel much better.

    Dare I say……sometimes one even needs to distance oneself from family and friends for a while to get some time alone (to sort out your own mind and get some restful sleep and space to think).

    When you’re ready, surround yourself with positive people who make you feet good and uplifted, and distance yourself from negative people who challenge and irritate you.

    Reply

    • Fergiemoto
      Feb 21, 2013 @ 18:56:56

      I hear you, Vicki, I really do!
      You know yourself best, and you know how you feel inside better than anyone else. It is difficult because those of us with such “invisible illnesses” such as the chronic pain and fatigue, etc., you talk about don’t physically look like the struggles going on inside us. Good for you for taking control and listening more to your inner voice!!

      Reply

  4. marina kanavaki
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 03:59:40

    Well, said and so beautifully shown!
    I love your sketch! [couldn’t agree more btw!]
    🙂

    Reply

  5. TBM
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 05:21:02

    I couldn’t agree more. And I love the saying.

    Reply

  6. Jason Preater
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 07:28:45

    When trying to do the cryptic crossword I find the difficult answers come when I am looking out the window, not when I am looking at the puzzle

    Reply

  7. Robyn Lee
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 09:59:20

    This was great Fergi ~ thank you! I’m in some mud right now… trying this rehab program and my body is saying no way can you change our methods… dislocating pain all over the place…. I will try to take this advice and find a stillness somewhere …. Muc Love and have you in heart– hope you are managing ok sweet friend ~ x RL

    Reply

    • Fergiemoto
      Mar 05, 2013 @ 11:21:37

      Thank you so much, Robyn. Oh, I so hope you are able to gradually crawl out of the mud and that the new therapy provides you with at least some hope and relief. I know how difficult it is to find stillness in the midst of such pain.

      Reply

  8. zendictive
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 10:12:17

    so true (~_~)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

