Pain Haiku #2

Pain Haiku 2a

>>>::<<<
dark clouds swallow me
relentlessly tormenting
pain monsters
>>>::<<<

Several weeks have passed and the elevated, intense pain symptoms persist.  The list of places in my body without pain is shorter than the list of places experiencing pain.  This recent increase is explainable.  There have been a few unexpected setbacks, and I need to continue therapy, stretches and treatments to get me back on track.

In one of my pain psychology sessions a while back, I showed my psychologist some doodles I had created, which included some emotional situations involving…of course…pain.  One of the recommendations he had in addition to doing artwork regarding emotional situations is to draw an alternate scenario.  For example, he asked how I would draw myself if I had more “power ” and said that drawing an alternate scenario can help you figure out an alternate in real life.  So here it is…my alternate scenario:

Pain Haiku 2b

>>>::<<<
pulverize the beasts
banish to oblivion
a bright new day
>>>::<<<

Pain is only one type of monster persisting right now.  What kinds of monsters are persisting (or have persisted in the past) for you?

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rana
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 18:33:49

    First, good luck to you in conquering your monster! I’d say the biggest monster for me has been my anti-social personality. It was hatched in 7th and 8th grade when I went to yet another new school that was full of kids who knew each other since they were all 2. Not a very welcoming group, and at that point in my life, my true personality traits were setting in for the long run, so my confidence in social situations was stunted. Luckily by bf of 7 years has gradually helped me beat that monster into the dirt, although it rears its nasty head still, here and there. I hope you have someone who can help you give your monster a swift punch in the face! 🙂

    Reply

  2. mcsgal
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 19:01:25

    I hope you get a bright new day soon and that it is so bright that the pain monsters flee.

    Reply

  3. Roberta
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 19:10:03

    Hello! I know not pain like yours and I look forward with you for the time you will pain free.. I share about the goliath that I am taking down here..lol! http://iknowicandance.wordpress.com I love your photography, artwork and poetry. You are gifted…

    Reply

  4. Robyn Lee
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 19:17:07

    Oh Fergi — I am so sorry to hear this — I know the beasts you speak of – the widespread pain that seems almost like there is a voodoo doll somewhere that is being tortured in my honor. 😦 I am struggling here too — one step forward and 10 back kind of thing… considering consulting with surgeons on hip replacement… really don’t want to. Lets keep trying to tame (pulverize) the beasts — your animations above are wonderful – as is your Haiku ~ Sending hugs (gentle ones) and lots of love ~ Robyn

    Reply

    • Fergiemoto
      May 15, 2013 @ 20:36:57

      Oh no, Robyn, I’m so sorry about your continuing struggles and setbacks. Surgery is not an easy decision to make. I’ll be by your blog soon to catch up. I hope there have been some improvements for you. Hugs to you, too!

      Reply

  5. sondasmcschatter
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 19:28:45

    I understand your pain– I want you to know– I care & am praying for you & for relief & pain free & peace & joy for you—

    Reply

  6. linda
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 20:10:30

    When my pain gets bad, and I resist it and want to fight it, it only gets worse!
    I discovered that what helps me is when I attend to it with love, with care, to enquire into it as to why there is hurt, and if there’s anything I can do, gently, to relieve it…
    To approach the pain as a dear friend who is hurting, instead of a monster to be slain…
    I hope you find a way that works for you.

    Reply

    • Fergiemoto
      May 15, 2013 @ 20:41:23

      Thank you, Linda.
      Exactly! It’s like the quote, “what you resist, persists.” I understand the need to approach it also with tenderness and as a friend trying to teach me what is going on in my body.

      Reply

  7. zingzeal808
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 20:23:12

    Sorry you are in so much pain.

    Reply

  8. zingzeal808
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 20:23:36

    Reblogged this on Zing Zeal.

    Reply

  9. marina kanavaki
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 03:36:38

    You had the power to envisage the alternate image, so I think you have the power to go live there, my dear Fergie. This is my wish for you, from my heart!
    On the artistic side, both versions are beautiful!
    🙂

    Reply

  10. Kathryn Chastain Treat
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 12:35:10

    My monster is my chemical sensitivity. Just had a horrid reaction in a dentist’s office and am still trying to recover. I hope your pain calms itself down very soon.

    Reply

    • Fergiemoto
      May 15, 2013 @ 20:49:22

      Thank you, Kathryn! It is a persistent bugger, but I appreciate the kind words.
      Chemical sensitivity is such a huge and overwhelming monster, and such a struggle. I’m sorry to learn (from your blog) what you are experiencing.
      I recently had a reaction in the dentist’s office also…air freshener.

      Reply

  11. nuresma
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 04:39:39

    Very interesting! I hope you can be on that second situation soon enough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

