Adapting to Change

Adapting to Change


It’s not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent, but the one most ADAPTABLE to CHANGE.

I saw this quote a few days ago and it really hit home.  My life is drastically different than it was 10 years ago, even much different than it was five years ago.  I will never be able to go back to the life I had so many years ago, and have to keep moving forward, toward adapting to more changes.  It’s a necessary acceptance.  Some of it is good, while some of it is sad.  One thing for certain, though, is that change is constant.

My “normal” keeps changing.  I’m sure many of you who visit or follow this blog can relate to how that feels.

Let’s keep forging ahead!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 13:19:07

    My normal is always changing too.. (:

    Reply

  2. sondasmcschatter
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 13:22:13

    Amen –Fergie—- thanks for being my MCS sister & your support & understanding— love your blogs!!!! Keep spreading the info!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. MCS Gal
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 13:28:49

    You said it – the only constant in this world is change. Since life is always changing, I wonder why we spend so much energy fighting changing rather than using that energy to adapt to the change.

    Reply

  4. Kathryn Chastain Treat
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 19:51:29

    It remember what “normal” was for me prior to my mold exposure in 1999. My normal changed forever. It continues to change. My normal is also different today from what it was five years ago and will be different from today next week. I learned to realize and accept that everyone’s normal changes, some more than others. Thank you for this. I am going to have to copy and save your quote.

    Reply

  5. Kathryn Chastain Treat
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 19:52:32

    Reblogged this on allergictolifemybattle and commented:
    I have talked about normal many times. I like what Fergie has written here. Change is definitely constant.

    Reply

  6. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography)
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 00:02:21

    Excellent post Fergie.

    I wouldn’t be alive today if I couldn’t adapt to change. Mind you, it’s not easy with chronic health issues, but my adaption to a slower, simpler lifestyle has been much easier than a normal healthy person suddenly struck down by serious illness.

    I’m lucky in that I’m a solitary person who likes simple pleasures for the most part.

    It’s the high living, high earning, adventurers that find it hard to lower their values and expectations in life.

    Reply

  7. Jennie Sherwin
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 10:24:01

    The need to adapt to change comes to us in many ways. Sometimes change happens quite suddenly, and often it unfolds over time. Sometimes it is focused on the body and other times on the heart and mind. Whether physical, emotional, mental, or spiritual, change requires courage and determination to keep moving forward and to process with grace what unfolds for us. Blessings to all, Jennie

    Reply

  8. marina kanavaki
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 11:03:05

    Indeed I can relate, FM! 🙂
    big big smile, my friend!
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

